Zucchini Chocolate Chocolate Chip Muffins

Hi again everyone!

As I mentioned before, I like to experiment when it comes to baking – I make my own rules. Even though with all the measurements and detailed instructions that come with every recipe, to me, those “rules” are made to be broken. For me, baking is not a science but rather an art ๐Ÿ™‚

Ok let’s get to it! I had an extra zucchini in the fridge and I didn’t know what to do with it. So I went to one of my all time favorite recipe websites: allrecipes.com. There you can click on “ingredients” and just search for recipes that contain the ingredients you have in stock. You can also put ingredients that you don’t have. So I narrowed my search and came across a “Zucchini Chocolate Chip Muffin” recipe.

As I began to shred the zucchini, I decided I wanted to add some things to the recipe. So I started with the basics (what the recipe called for) and then began to experiment a little….

The two ingredients that I added were whipping cream and pure cocoa powder. Since I was adding a “wet ingredient” as well as a “dry ingredient” I didn’t really need to take away any flour or add in any more milk than what was called for in the recipe. But I always ‘eye ball it’ because I kind of just know when a batter has the right consistency. One trick that always turns out well for me is that I always mix together all the wet ingredients first (which include all the ingredients you see in the picture below). I’d also recommend that when you work with cocoa powder that you mix it in with the wet ingredients as well although some recipes will instruct you do otherwise.

Then I add in all the dry ingredients and then the zucchini and chocolate chips last.

As strange as this is going to sound, I first got the idea of using an ice cream scooper to pour the batter evenly into every silicone muffin cup from the tv show Desperate Housewives haha. Then once I got hooked on the show Cupcake Wars, I realized that that’s a pretty standard way to cut down on the drips and mess of it all especially when dealing with muffin batter. It always tends to be more liquidy than say cookie batter.

As you can see, I need to try to find a tiny ice cream scooper because for my mini muffin cups, I ย don’t yet have a good non-drip system!!

The great thing about this recipe is that the cocoa powder really helped to mask the fact that there was zucchini in the muffins. I gave a few of my friends some of the minis and asked them to guess what was in them… They were making some wild suggestions knowing that I like to experiment with different ingredients… but they said that they never would have guessed zucchini. I’ve already made them twice! I tend to always test out a new recipe two or three times before they make it into my recipe card box. ๐Ÿ˜‰

I hope you’ve enjoyed reading! Let me know how it goes if you decide to give them a try!! ๐Ÿ™‚

โค Katie

Leave a Reply

