Lemon Poppy Seed Muffins

As a kid my family and I would go visit my great grandparents and we would always go to this awesome restaurant called the Dansbury Depot which was made from really old train cars. I recently learned that there was a kitchen fire a couple of years ago that forced the Depot to shut down. Soon after the fire, the town fought to have the Depot renovated and moved to a different location… so it open again!

Anyway, this all got me thinking about the AMAZING lemon poppy seed bread that also goes hand in hand with the memories of being with my great grandparents and the rest of my family and watching the model train ride around the top of the rafters of that train car restaurant. So I went searching for poppy seeds and I found them the other day in the store TIGER of all places. I made muffins instead of the bread because, well, muffins are more grab’n go friendly!

These are the poppy seeds that I bought. They originally came in a bag, but I bought this cute little container from TIGER as well! (For only 1 euro) πŸ˜‰

YUMMMM! They turned out so well! Although next time I think I’ll add in some lemon zest (not just lemon juice) to give it more of a zing!

I love making mini muffins too! I can’t wait to make them again!

As always, thanks for reading! I love reading all your comments, so keep them coming! πŸ™‚

5 responses

  1. They look delicious….. i love the mini idea, since we all have promblems with portion control when everything taste sooooo good…keep on baking all the mini treats………

  2. Katie, I have a Lemon Poppy Seed Pound Cake recipe. I make 1/2 the recipe and put it in a loaf pan. Muffins sound even better.

  3. Where can I find the recipe? I used to live in East Stroudsburg, PA and when family used to visit, we used to go… I would LOVE to make them as the Depot is now closed :0(

    • I really thought that it re-opened once they relocated it! Wow… well, I hope I can help you re-create the beloved poppy seed bread that they had there. I doctored the Better Homes & Garden’s recipe found on this page: http://www.bhg.com/recipe/quickbreads/lemon-bread/

      Instead of nuts, I put in a tablespoon of poppy seeds. Instead of the glaze, I put the 3 tablespoons of lemon juice directly in the batter. And I tend to substitute a greek yogurt for buttermilk to make it a little better for you…. however, I’m sure the Depot put in all the good stuff! πŸ˜‰ Let me know how it works for you, and thanks for reading!

Leave a Reply

