Bowling Themed Cake & Mini Cupcakes

So as I’ve mentioned before, I’ve enjoyed baking for my bowling buddies ever couple of Mondays per month (((it was always a good plan – I love baking, but I don’t love having a whole batch of something delicious laying around my apartment for me to eat! – so it’s been great to share!))). Well, at the end of May, our bowling league came to the season’s end… so naturally I wanted to go above and beyond anything I had made throughout the year!!!! There were over 50 fellow bowlers that were going to be at the awards ceremony and I was asked to make a cake “or something” … some people prefer to let me decide what to make (which can also be dangerous because then I get too many ideas floating around in my head!!!! hehe).

Anyway, so I decided to make a cake (one of my favorites): Peanut Butter Tandycake!!!! For any of you not familiar with this typical picnic dessert, it’s a wonderful vanilla cake layered with peanut butter and then a layer of melted chocolate!!! I went all out and made it a double decker!!! (I only have one cake pan and it’s a 9×13)… so I had to make it taller because I had no option of making it wider! πŸ˜‰

Knowing that the cake was going to taste amazing, I wanted to decorate it in a similarly amazing way… and here’s what I came up with:

I also made some mini chocolate cupcakes (some Spaniards are afraid of peanut butter!)… and I decorated some with little bowling pins (I would have done them all with cute little pins on them , but frankly I was spent after the bowling cake and making the chocolate mint cupcake order that I mentioned in my last post that I decided to scatter the pins and give the other ones a bit of a simpler decoration.

I actually don’t know how the mini cupcakes turned out! They were gone by the time I was finished cutting the cake! I didn’t hear many complaints! πŸ˜‰

As always,
Thanks for reading!!!! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

